
Nebraska Workers’ Compensation Court Information Sheet:  

Agricultural Operations & Workers’ 
Compensation in Nebraska 

When is workers’ compensation insurance required for agricultural operations? 

 Under the Nebraska Workers’ Compensation Act, employers engaged in an agricultural operation are required 

to provide workers’ compensation insurance coverage for all unrelated employees if the employer employs 

10 or more unrelated, full-time employees on each working day for 13 calendar weeks, whether consec-

utive or not, during any calendar year. This includes employees at all locations of the agricultural operation. 

(A worksheet is attached to assist in tracking this information.) When an employer has met these requirements, 

workers’ compensation insurance coverage must be obtained no later than 30 days after the end of the 13th 

calendar week.   

What is an agricultural operation? 

 Agricultural operation is defined as the cultivation of land for the production of agricultural crops, fruit, or 

other horticultural products; or the ownership, keeping, or feeding of animals for the production of livestock 

products.   

What is a full-time employee? 

 Full-time employee is defined as a person who is employed to work one-half or more of the regularly sched-

uled hours during each pay period. 

What about relatives? 

 The Act does not apply to agricultural operations that employ only related employees. Related employee is 

defined as a spouse of an employer and an employee related to the employer within the third degree by blood 

or marriage. This includes parents, grandparents, great grandparents, children, grandchildren, great grandchil-

dren, brothers, sisters, uncles, aunts, nephews, nieces, and spouses of the same.   

What about partnerships, limited liability companies, and corporations? 

 If the employer is a partnership, limited liability company, or corporation in which all of the partners, mem-

bers, or shareholders are related within the third degree by blood or marriage, then related employee means 

any employee related to any such partner, member, or shareholder within the third degree by blood or mar-

riage. 

Can coverage be dropped? 

 If an agricultural operation subject to the Act no longer employs 10 or more unrelated, full-time employees, 

coverage must continue in effect during the remainder of that calendar year and for the next full calendar year. 

The employer may then elect to return to exempt status by posting a written or printed notice. The notice must 

state that the employer will no longer carry workers’ compensation insurance for the employees and the date 

coverage will end. This notice must be posted continuously in a conspicuous place at all employment locations 

of the employees for at least 90 days. After the 90 day posting period has passed, the employer may then 

cancel the workers’ compensation policy. Failure to provide this notice voids an employer’s attempt to return 

to exempt status.   



Can coverage be provided voluntarily? 

 An agricultural operation that is otherwise exempt from the Act may nevertheless elect to become subject to 

the Act and provide workers’ compensation insurance coverage for its employees. This is done by obtaining 

a workers’ compensation policy from an insurer licensed by the Nebraska Department of Insurance to write 

workers’ compensation insurance in Nebraska.   

 An agricultural operation that has voluntarily chosen to provide workers’ compensation insurance coverage 

for its employees may elect to return to exempt status by posting a written or printed notice. The notice must 

state that the employer will no longer carry workers’ compensation insurance for the employees and the date 

coverage will end. This notice must be posted continuously in a conspicuous place at all employment locations 

of the employees for at least 90 days. After the 90 day posting period has passed, the employer may then 

cancel the workers’ compensation policy. Failure to provide this notice voids an employer’s attempt to return 

to exempt status. 

Must employees be notified? 

 In addition to the notice requirements for terminating coverage, every employer who is exempt under the Act 

and does not voluntarily elect to provide workers’ compensation insurance coverage must give all unrelated 

employees the following written notice at the time of hiring or at any time more than 30 calendar days prior 

to the time of injury: “In this employment you will not be covered by the Nebraska Workers’ Compensation 

Act and you will not be compensated under the act if you are injured on the job or suffer an occupational 

disease. You should plan accordingly.” The notice must be signed by the unrelated employee and retained by 

the employer. Failure to provide this notice subjects an employer to liability and inclusion in the Act for any 

unrelated employees to whom such notice was not given.  

What are the penalties for failure to provide coverage? 

 Penalties for failing to obtain workers’ compensation insurance coverage when required include 1) a civil fine 

of up to $1,000.00 for each violation, with each day of continued failure to obtain coverage constituting a 

separate violation, and 2) criminal misdemeanor penalties of imprisonment for not more than one year, a 

$1,000.00 fine, or both. The employer may also be enjoined from doing business in Nebraska until coverage 

is obtained.   

This information has been prepared by the Nebraska Workers’ Compensation Court to answer 
some general questions concerning the application of the Nebraska Workers’ Compensation 
Act to agricultural operations. Further inquiries may be directed to: 

 Nebraska Workers’ Compensation Court 
 P.O. Box 98908 
 Lincoln, NE 68509-8908 

 800-599-5155 or 402-471-6468 

 http://www.wcc.ne.gov/ 
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Nebraska Agricultural Operation Workers' Compensation Insurance Worksheet 
 
Instructions: 
 
1. An employer engaged in an agricultural 

operation who employs 10 or more 
unrelated, full-time, employees, on 
each working day, for 13 or more 
calendar weeks (consecutive or not) 
during a calendar year, must have 
workers’ compensation insurance 
coverage for all unrelated employees 
within 30 days after the end of the 13th 
such week. 

 
2. Starting with the first calendar week of 

the year, count the number of unrelated, 
full-time, employees that worked each 
day during that week, at all of your 
business locations.  Place that number of 
employees in the appropriate day for that 
week. At the end of the week, if there 
were 10 or more unrelated, full-time, 
employees on each working day, then 
check the box marked “Yes.” If there 
were fewer than 10 employees on any 
working day of the week, then check the 
box marked “No.” 

 
3. Once you have 13 boxes checked in the 

"Yes" column, you must obtain workers’ 
compensation insurance for your 
unrelated employees within 30 days after 
the end of the 13th week. 

 
4. A calendar year is January through 

December. A full-time employee is a 
person who is employed to work one-half 
or more of the regularly scheduled hours 
during each pay period. A related 
employee is defined as a spouse of an 
employer and an employee related to the 
employer within the third degree by blood 
or marriage. This includes parents, 
grandparents, great grandparents, 
children, grandchildren, great 
grandchildren, brothers, sisters, uncles, 
aunts, nephews, nieces, and spouses of 
the same. 
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