
Nebraska Workers’ Compensation Court Information Sheet: 

Overview of Appeal to the Nebraska  
Court of Appeals 

Appealing the decision of a Nebraska Workers’ Compensation Court judge 

If either party (either the injured worker or the employer/workers’ compensation insurance carrier) is not 

satisfied with the trial judge’s decision, that party may appeal the decision by asking for an appeal to the 

Nebraska Court of Appeals. In order to request an appeal, a Notice of Appeal document must be filed in the 

Workers’ Compensation Court clerk’s office within 30 days of the date of the judge’s decision. The Notice 

of Appeal should include payment of Court of Appeals costs in the form of a $26 check made payable to 

Nebraska Court of Appeals and a $75 check made payable to Nebraska Workers’ Compensation Court (or 

Affidavit and Application to Proceed without Payment of Costs, described below).  

Three of the six Court of Appeals judges will decide the case, and they may only consider the record made at 

trial when they decide the appeal. The trial record is the evidence that was offered at trial. It usually includes 

written documents and a transcript of the oral testimony. No additional evidence (such as oral testimony or 

written documents) can be offered by either party at the time of the oral argument. When the Court of Appeals 

decides a workers’ compensation case, it may modify, reverse, or set aside a judgment, order, or award of the 

Nebraska Workers’ Compensation Court only upon the grounds that (1) the compensation court acted without 

or in excess of its powers; (2) the judgment, order, or award was procured by fraud; (3) there is not sufficient 

competent evidence in the record to warrant the making of the order, judgment, or award; or (4) the findings 

of fact by the compensation court do not support the order or award. 

Each step of the appeals process is governed by statutes (laws) and court rules which must be consulted and 

followed. The Workers’ Compensation Act, including Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 48-182 and 48-185 regarding ap-

peals, can be found on the Workers’ Compensation Court’s web site at http://www.wcc.ne.gov/legal/stat-

utes.aspx. The Nebraska Court Rules of Appellate Practice can be found on the Nebraska Judicial Branch 

web site at http://supremecourt.ne.gov/supreme-court-rules/ch2/art1. You may also wish to review the 

“Citizen’s Guide to the Nebraska Appellate Courts” on the Supreme Court’s web site at http://su-

premecourt.ne.gov/sites/supremecourt.ne.gov/files/self-help/citz-guide-appellate-courts.pdf. 

Time period for appeal 

The Notice of Appeal must be filed in the Workers’ Compensation Court clerk’s office in Lincoln within 30 

days of the date of the trial judge’s decision. The date of the judge’s decision will be written on the decision 

at the end, just before the judge’s signature and will also be stamped on the first page of the decision. Calcu-

lating the date of the 30-day deadline to file the Notice of Appeal may vary with the circumstances. Court 

staff cannot calculate the deadline for you. 

Appeal documents 

There are three documents you must prepare and file with the Workers’ Compensation Court in order to appeal 

a decision: a Notice of Appeal, a Praecipe for Transcript, and a Request for Bill of Exceptions. Forms and 

instructions for these documents are available on the Workers’ Compensation Court’s web site at 

http://www.wcc.ne.gov/publications/publications.aspx#adj and on the Supreme Court’s web site at 

http://supremecourt.ne.gov/self-help/welcome. These documents must be filed in the Workers’ Compensa-

tion Court clerk’s office in Lincoln.    

1. Notice of Appeal — This document notifies the court and the other parties that you are appealing the 

decision of the Workers’ Compensation Court. 

 The Notice of Appeal should include payment of the Court of Appeals costs in the form of a $26 check 



made payable to Nebraska Court of Appeals and a $75 check made payable to Nebraska Workers’ Com-

pensation Court (or Affidavit and Application to Proceed without Payment of Costs, described below). 

See Neb. Ct. R. App. P. § 2-101.   

2. Praecipe for Transcript — A “Praecipe” is a document that requests the clerk of the court to do some-

thing.  A party filing a Praecipe for Transcript is asking the clerk’s office to prepare the Transcript. Upon 

filing the Notice of Appeal, you should file a Praecipe for Transcript. The Transcript is a copy of the 

relevant pleadings and decisions in the case.  Pleadings are the papers that the parties have filed during 

the litigation, and they generally include the petition, answer, and motions. The clerk’s office will prepare 

the Transcript based on your request and forward it to the Court of Appeals. The clerk’s office is required 

to include: 

• The pleadings upon which the case was tried, as designated by the appellant; 

• The judgment, decree, or final order sought to be reversed, vacated, or modified; and 

• A copy of the supersedeas bond, if any, given in the compensation court, or, if none has been given, a 

recital of the fact that a bond for costs was given and approved in the Workers’ Compensation Court, 

or a deposit made as required by Neb. Rev. Stat. § 25-1914. 

• In cases where an Application to Proceed without Payment of Costs has been filed, a copy of the order 

of the compensation court granting or denying such. 

 The Transcript will also include copies of the appeal documents, if filed. If you believe that additional 

pleadings are necessary for your appeal, your Praecipe must specifically direct the clerk’s office to 

include them. See Neb. Ct. R. App. P. § 2-104(A). 

3. Request for Bill of Exceptions — The Bill of Exceptions is made up of the trial evidence, which includes 

written documents (exhibits and a copy of the oral testimony from trial). The Request for Bill of Excep-

tions should be filed at the same time the Notice of Appeal is filed. If you do not request a Bill of Excep-

tions, the judges will not be able to review the trial evidence, and that may compromise your case on 

appeal. See Neb. Ct. R. App. P. § 2-105(B). 

Appeal document checklist 

To the Nebraska Workers’ Compensation Court: 

• The original, completed Notice of Appeal 

• A $26 check payable to Nebraska Court of Appeals and a $75 check payable to Nebraska Workers’ Com-

pensation Court (or Affidavit and Application to Proceed without Payment of Costs) 

• The original, completed Praecipe for Transcript 

• The original, completed Praecipe for Bill of Exceptions 

• The Affidavit and Application to Proceed without Payment of Costs, if applicable 

To the other party(ies): 

• One copy of the completed Notice of Appeal 

• One copy of the completed Praecipe for Transcript 

• One copy of the completed Request for Bill of Exceptions 

To the court reporter: 

• One copy of the completed Request for Bill of Exceptions (contact the clerk’s office to obtain the court 

reporter’s contact information). 

Appeal costs 

Generally, the person requesting the appeal must pay the costs of the appeal, unless the court approves the 

Application to Proceed without Payment of Costs (see the next section for exceptions). These costs include 



the cost to prepare the Bill of Exceptions, the cost to prepare the Transcript ($1.00), the cash deposit ($75.00), 

the Court of Appeals costs ($26.00), and the costs you incur for printing briefs.  You must pay for the cost to 

prepare the Bill of Exceptions. The court reporter will give you an estimate of the cost to prepare the Bill of 

Exceptions, and you may have to pay a deposit before he/she begins preparation. 

When a party is unable to pay appeal costs 

If you are unable to pay or secure the means to pay for the costs of an appeal to the Court of Appeals, you can 

request the court to waive payment of the costs. You can request this waiver by filing an Affidavit and Appli-

cation to Proceed without Payment of Costs (form available on the Workers’ Compensation Court’s web site 

at: http://www.wcc.ne.gov/publications/publications.aspx#adj). This request should be filed with the No-

tice of Appeal. A judge of the Workers’ Compensation Court will review the information you provide on the 

form and send you an order informing you of whether you must pay the appeal costs. 

Additional information regarding appeals 

For information on additional requirements such as briefs and oral arguments, see the Nebraska Court Rules 

of Appellate Practice (http://supremecourt.ne.gov/supreme-court-rules/ch2/art1) and the “Citizen’s 

Guide to the Nebraska Appellate Courts” (http://supremecourt.ne.gov/sites/supremecourt. ne.gov/files/ 

self-help/citz-guide-appellate-courts.pdf). 

This publication has been prepared by the Nebraska Workers’ Compensation Court to answer 
some of the commonly asked questions concerning appeals to the Nebraska Court of Appeals. 
General inquiries regarding the appeals process may be directed to: 

 Nebraska Workers’ Compensation Court 
 P.O. Box 98908 
 Lincoln, NE 68509-8908 

 800-599-5155 or 402-471-6468 

 http://www.wcc.ne.gov 

THE NEBRASKA WORKERS’ COMPENSATION COURT DOES NOT REPRESENT THAT THESE IN-
STRUCTIONS WILL BE APPROPRIATE IN EVERY CASE. CASE-SPECIFIC QUESTIONS SHOULD 
BE DIRECTED TO A LAWYER. COURT PERSONNEL CANNOT PROVIDE LEGAL ADVICE. 
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